Big Sur - Disable Bluetooth Sharing

Information

Bluetooth Sharing _MUST_ be disabled.

Bluetooth Sharing allows users to wirelessly transmit files between the macOS and Bluetooth-enabled devices, including personally owned cellphones and tablets. A malicious user might introduce viruses or malware onto the system or extract sensitive files via Bluetooth Sharing. When Bluetooth Sharing is disabled, this risk is mitigated.

[NOTE]
====
The check and fix are for the currently logged in user. To get the currently logged in user, run the following.
[source,bash]
----
CURRENT_USER=$( scutil <<< "show State:/Users/ConsoleUser" | awk '/Name :/ && ! /loginwindow/ { print $3 }' )
----
====

Solution

[source,bash]
----
/usr/bin/sudo -u "$CURRENT_USER" /usr/bin/defaults -currentHost write com.apple.Bluetooth PrefKeyServicesEnabled -bool false
----

See Also

https://github.com/usnistgov/macos_security

Item Details

Category: ACCESS CONTROL, CONFIGURATION MANAGEMENT

References: 800-53|AC-3, 800-53|AC-18(4), 800-53|CM-7, 800-53|CM-7(1), 800-53|CM-7b., CCE|CCE-85421-6

Plugin: Unix

Control ID: 9a7a923fe86cb62aaba0556eb33d06cf62caddd576a2aa25c97a5ed3e2d86298