Fedora 2003-026 Security Check

High Log Correlation Engine Plugin ID 801543

Synopsis

The remote host is missing a security update.

Description

"The kernel shipped with Fedora Core 1 was vulnerable to a bug in the
error return on a concurrent fork() with threaded exit() which could
be exploited by a user level program to crash the kernel.

In addition to this bug fix, the changelog below details various other
non security fixes that have been added.

- Mon Dec 01 2003 Dave Jones davej at redhat.com

- sys_tgkill wasn't enabled on IA32.

- Sun Nov 30 2003 Dave Jones davej at redhat.com

- Process scheduler fix. When doing sync wakeups we must
not skip the notification of other cpus if the task is
not on this runqueue.

- Wed Nov 26 2003 Justin M. Forbes 64bit_fedora at
comcast.net

- Merge required ia32 syscalls for AMD64

- [f]truncate64 for 32bit code fix

- Mon Nov 24 2003 Dave Jones davej at redhat.com

- Fix power-off on shutdown with ACPI.

- Add missing part of recent cmpci fix

- Drop CONFIG_NR_CPUS patch which was problematic.

- Fold futex-fix into main futex patch.

- Fix TG3 tqueue initialisation.

- Various NPTL fixes.

- Fri Nov 14 2003 Dave Jones davej at redhat.com

- Drop netfilter change which proved to be bad upstream.

- Thu Nov 13 2003 Justin M. Forbes 64bit_fedora at
comcast.net

- Fix NForce3 DMA and ATA133 on AMD64

- Wed Nov 12 2003 Dave Jones davej at redhat.com

- Fix syscall definitions on AMD64

- Tue Nov 11 2003 Dave Jones davej at redhat.com

- Fix Intel 440GX Interrupt routing.

- Fix waitqueue leak in cmpci driver.

- Mon Nov 10 2003 Dave Jones davej at redhat.com

- Kill noisy warnings in the DRM modules.

- Merge munged upstream x86-64.org patch for various
AMD64 fixes.

- Mon Nov 03 2003 Dave Jones davej at redhat.com

- Further cleanups related to AMD64 build.

- Fri Oct 31 2003 Dave Jones davej at redhat.com

- Make AMD64 build."

Solution

Update the affected package(s).

See Also

http://www.nessus.org/u?f5b961ef

Plugin Details

Severity: High

ID: 801543

File Name: 801543.prm

Family: Generic

Risk Information

Risk Factor: High