1.82 (L1) Ensure 'Delete old browser data on migration' is set to 'Disabled'

Information

This policy controls whether web browser data is deleted after migration to Microsoft Edge, this data includes forms, passwords, and visited sites.

The recommended state for this setting is: Disabled.

Deleting browser data will delete information that may be important for a computer investigation and investigators such as Computer Forensics Analysts may not be able to retrieve pertinent information to the investigation.

Solution

To establish the recommended configuration via configuration profiles, set the following Settings Catalog path to Disabled :

Microsoft Edge\Delete old browser data on migration

Impact:

Browsing data will not be deleted during migration.

See Also

https://workbench.cisecurity.org/benchmarks/24642

Item Details

Category: CONFIGURATION MANAGEMENT

References: 800-53|CM-6, 800-53|CM-7, CSCv7|9.2

Plugin: Windows

Control ID: cabcf372f1270c83b97e469659a742201b9cac8b3fd5c0c6ad55bebeeed78d3b