1.8.7 Ensure the graphical user Ctrl-Alt-Delete key sequence is disabled
The operating system must be configured so that the x86 Ctrl-Alt-Delete key sequence is disabled in the Graphical User Interface. Rationale: A locally logged-on user who presses Ctrl-Alt-Delete, when at the console, can reboot the system. If accidentally pressed, as could happen in the case of a mixed OS environment, this can create the risk of short-term loss of availability of systems due to unintentional reboot. In the graphical environment, risk of unintentional reboot from the Ctrl-Alt-Delete sequence is reduced because the user will be prompted before any action is taken.
Configure the system to disable the Ctrl-Alt-Delete sequence for the graphical user interface with the following command: # touch /etc/dconf/db/local.d/00-disable-CAD Add the setting to disable the Ctrl-Alt-Delete sequence for the graphical user interface: [org/gnome/settings-daemon/plugins/media-keys] logout=''